Merry Christmas, Indeed

Twelve days ago, Ben and I were getting ready for our first holiday party.

Truth be told, I was slightly hungover from my work holiday party the night before. So really, Ben was getting ready for our holiday party. He rearranged the furniture, did the last minute grocery shopping and even got me a Happy Meal. My go-to hangover cure.

Together, we did some last minute decorating before we had to run a few errands. While we were decorating, Ben informed me that he had gotten some extra decorations and that he’d give them to me after dinner.

Fast-forward to after dinner. Ben presented me with a gift-wrapped box. Inside were two Christmas stockings. Perfect, I thought, we can hang these up for the party! Inside the first stocking were two ornaments. The first was a dog. I’ve been begging to get a dog for months. The second ornament was house. Our future dog and our future house, Ben said. (cue, awwwww!)

He handed me the second stocking. Inside I felt a box. A box that I thought had a fancy, glass ornament or something. Instead I found this:

I was SO surprised! Ben and I have been together for five years so we’ve certainly discussed marriage and I knew a proposal was coming but I had no idea he was going to do it when he did it!

Looking back on the day, I should have know something was up. The next night we had our party and it was so fun to have our close friends and our new friends over to celebrate the holidays and our engagement. (I’ll post more about the party soon!)

Needless to say, the past week or so has been a whirlwind of phone calls, early stages of planning, telling everyone who asks about how he proposed. Everything was so perfect and I couldn’t be more excited to marry him!

3 thoughts on “Merry Christmas, Indeed

  1. Pingback: Holiday Party 2011 « meghan elizabeth

  2. Pingback: Looking Back « meghan elizabeth

  3. Pingback: Will You Be My Bridesmaid? | meghan elizabeth

Leave a Reply

